The 7 Levels of Jazz Harmony

Level 1 – “Bell Pepper” – II-V’s and other basic tonal movements
Level 2 – “Poblano Pepper” – Sub V’s and other stuff
Level 3 – “Jalepeño Pepper” – Crazy chromatic extensions
Level 4 – “Piri Piri Pepper”- Constant Structures and Pedal Point
Level 5 – “Habenero Pepper”- Free non-functional harmony
Level 6 – “Ghost Pepper”- Liberated Dissonance
Level 7 – “???” – Xenharmony

Records recommended in Video

Miles DavisWorking with the miles davis quintet1960
Miles DavisMiles Smiles1967
Art Blakey and the Jazz MessangersMoanin’1959
Charlie ParkerThe Charlie Parker Story1956
John ColtraneMy Favorite Things1960
John Coltranea Live Supreme1965
Ornette ColemanLove Call1968
Anthony Braxtonfor Alto1969
Herbie HancockFlood1975
Chick CoreaReturn to forever – Romantic Warrior1976
Stan KentonCity of Glass1951
David LiebmanJourney around the Truth2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *